The Statistical Council is an advisory body the purpose of which is to develop the system of official statistics by providing recommendations to statistical institutions, as well as facilitating cooperation between statistical institutions, respondents and users of statistics.

The Statistical Council acts according to its by-laws (only in Latvian). The by-laws and members of the Statistical Council are approved by the Minister for Economics. The term of office of the members of the Statistical Council is four years. Members of the Statistical Council may be repeatedly approved for work in the Council.

The functions of the secretariat of the Statistics Council are carried out by the Central Statistical Bureau: Lāčplēša iela 1, Riga. Phone: +371 67366642, e-mail:


According to order No. 11 of the Minister of Economics of 25 January 2016, the Statistics Council consists of the following members:

Chair of the Council
Aija Žīgure, President of the Central Statistical Bureau

Members of the Council, representing:
Agris Caune, Bank of Latvia
Jānis Hermanis, Employers’ Confederation of Latvia
Juris Krūmiņš, Council of Higher Education
Zigmārs Ķikāns, the Ministry of Agriculture
Lāsma Dilba, Data State Inspectorate
Jānis Upenieks, the Latvian Association of Local and Regional Governments
Jānis Salmiņš, the Ministry of Economics
Solveiga Siliņa, the Ministry of Welfare
Biruta Sloka, Latvian Association of Statisticians
Andris Ķēniņš, the Ministry of Environmental Protection and Regional Development
Vladislavs Vesperis, Cross-Sectoral Coordination Centre
Krišs Zvirbulis, the Latvian Chamber of Commerce and Industry